SBIC governance

SBIC Bylaws define President, President-Elect, Secretary, and Treasurer, as the elected officers of the society. All officers' terms start on October 1 and end on September 30. The President serves a two-year term and the Secretary and Treasurer serve four-year terms. The President-Elect serves one year before taking over the office of President. Contact the society for the contact information of the individuals below. 

Name Role Term (From - To)
Clotilde Policar, Ecole Normale Supérieure, PSL University, Paris, France President    2022 - 2024
Hongzhe Sun, Hong Kong, Hong Kong President-Elect    2023 - 2024
Vincent Pecoraro, Michigan, USA Past President    2022 - 2024
Kara Bren, University of Rochester, USA Secretary    2023 - 2027
Charles G. Riordan, Newark, DE, USA Treasurer    2020 - 2024


JBIC Editor-in-Chief

Nils Metzler Nolte, Bochum         2020-2024 

The Editor-in-Chief of JBIC is appointed by the SBIC Council for a specified term and is a non-voting member of the SBIC Council. See the link for the complete list of Editors of JBIC and membership of the Editorial Advisory Board.


The major elected committee of the society is the SBIC Council. The Council serves effectively as a representative executive committee in helping the President make decisions about society initiatives. The Council consists of eight elected members serving staggered four-year terms. SBIC Officers participate ex officio in Council discussions. The President may appoint up to four additional Council members. The memberships of Council and other appointed committees are listed below.


Name Term (From - To)
Celine Marmion, RCSI University of Medicine and Health Sciences, Ireland   2020  -  2024
Elizabeth New, University of Sydney, Australia   2020  -  2024
Elzbieta Gumienna-Kontecka, University of Wroclaw, Poland   2021  -  2025
Dinorah Gambino, Universidad de la República, Montevideo, Uruguay   2021  -  2025
Elisa Tomat, Tucson, Arizona, USA   2022  -  2026
Mi Hee Lim, KAIST, Korea   2022  -  2026
Jens Müller, University of Münster, Germany    2023  -  2027
Wee Han Ang, National University of Singapore, Singapore   2023  -  2027
Roland Sigel, Zurich, Switzerland (Program Committee/ICBIC IOC)  

Non-voting Members

Name Role Term (From - To)
Nils Metzler Nolte, Bochum JBIC Editor-in-Chief    2020 - 2024
Abhishek Dey, Kolkata, India Chair of the AsBIC Steering Committee    2023 - 2025



The Nominations Committee is only involved in identifying the slate of nominees for the SBIC elections.

Name Role Term (From - To)
Takashi Hayashi, University of Osaka, Japan Chair   2022 - 2025
Abhishek Dey, IACS, Calcutta, India Member   2022 - 2025
Amie Boal, Penn State Univ, USA Member   2022 - 2025
Paola Turano, University of Florence, Italy Member   2024 - 2027
Sonja Herres-Pawlisv, RWTH Aachen University, Germany Member   2024 - 2027
Alejandro J. Vila, IBR- University of Rosario, Argentina Member   2024 - 2027



Harry Gray
Richard Holm
Karl Wieghardt
Bernhard Lippert
Jan Reedijk
Helmut Sigel


The Society of Biological Inorganic Chemistry was originally established as a Private Limited Company in the United Kingdom. The Certificate of Incorporation (for Company No. 3096782) was signed on 31 August 1995. At that time both a Memorandum of Association and the Articles of Association were established. The Articles of Association form the SBIC Bylaws and these dictate the operation of our society unless formally superseded or amended by Council action. In 1999, the Federation of American Societies of Experimental Biology (FASEB) was contracted to manage society business (and in 2006 to host the society website). In 2020, the management transferred to MCI USA.